The stuffed chicken breast

The chicken breast. In my culture, the chicken breast is the least coveted part of the chicken, always the part of the chicken that is leftover at the end of the meal. Me on the other hand, always went for the chicken breast, not because I enjoyed the stringy, tough, dry meat, but I have an irrational fear of eating meat with the bone attached. With the chicken breast, I can neatly remove the bone attached and be reasonably certain that I wouldn’t swallow any bits and pieces of bone or cartilage.

These days, chicken breasts fill a large part of my regular diet as my boyfriend insist on this cut of the animal citing healthy living, low fat, low…and blah blah blah. Since I would like him to eat my cooking and not be stuck with all the leftovers, I have given into this request but have fought to buy skin on, boneless chicken breast rather than BONELESS AND SKINLESS chicken breast. Seriously, what do you want me to do with skinless chicken breast…?

The reason why I like skin on chicken especially when I am baking it whole is that it allows me to sear the chicken and I find that it helps keep in the moisture in the chicken as it cooks. When I am making chicken curries or chicken rice, I do prefer to use boneless, skinless chicken.

Recently, I made a stuffed chicken breast which turned out fantastically. The recipe is also so versatile, you can effectively stuff the chicken with whatever you have on hand!

The variation that I made was stuffed with spinach, goat cheese, and sun-dried tomatoes but these ingredients can easily be substituted with anything from any type of deli meat (think prosciutto, salami, ham), to different types of vegetables like asparagus or mushrooms, and whatever type of cheese you fancy or have on hand.

Here is the recipe to my chicken breast stuffed with spinach, goat cheese and sun-dried tomatoes.

2800

Ingredient List:

  • 1 boneless, skin-on chicken breast
  • A handful of spinach, layered on top of each other
  • 1 tablespoon of sun-dried tomatoes
  • 2 tablespoons of cheese
  • 1 tablespoon of cooking oil (I use grapeseed oil)
  • Salt and Pepper

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.
  2. Butterfly the chicken breast so it is one large piece of chicken. For visual direction, check out this youtube video.
  3. Fill chicken breast – layer spinach, cheese, and sun-dried tomatoes neatly on the bottom side of the chicken.
  4. Fold the top of the chicken breast over the filling and truss with a bit of butcher’s twine.
  5. Sprinkle liberally with salt and pepper.

    Step 2, 3, and 4
    Step 3, 4, and 5
  6. Heat up oil on a non-stick pan. Once pan is nice and hot, place chicken breast skin side down onto the pan. Sear off chicken breast until skin is nice and golden brown (about 2 -3 minutes depending on your stove). Once seared off, place chicken onto an oven safe pan.

    Step 6
    Step 6
  7. Bake chicken for about 30 minutes or until juices run clear.
  8. Once chicken is cooked through, remove and oven and let the chicken rest for 10 minutes to allow the juices to settle.

    Step 7
    Step 7
  9. Serve and enjoy! You can serve this with a side salad, mashed potatoes, or even a rice pilaf!

    Time to eat!
    Time to eat!

Hope you enjoyed this recipe! Happy cooking! – J

Leave a Reply

