Kimchi beef yakiudon

Okay, so the thing I realised now about blogging is that I am TERRIBLE at remembering to take pictures and take measurements of how much stuff I am putting into the dish. I whipped up this quick and easy (and tasty!) yakiudon tonight for dinner after a long day of grocery shopping and gift wrapping and was excited to share this with you all….except I didn’t stop to take a picture of what I was doing until I was done… so I do apologise for 1) the lack of pictures and 2) the possible inaccuracy of the measurement of the ingredients (I just tasted as I went). So alas here we go….

Kimchi Beef Yakiudon 

070

My apologies for the terrible picture. I have a flat electric stove top so the noodles turned out a little wetter than I would have liked. The electric flat top does not give enough heat to make “wok hei” to get the delicious caramelization of the meat and veggies that the restaurants are able to achieve. I disgress…

Ingredient List:

  • 1 pound thinly sliced beef*
  • 2 packages of udon (I prefer the frozen variety)
  • 1/2 cup of kimchi, roughly chopped
  • 1 cup sliced mushrooms
  • 1/2 cup of fish roe (optional)**
  • 2 pats of butter (around 1 tablespoon in total)
  • 1 tablespoon mirin
  • 1 – 2 tablespoons of soy sauce (I use low sodium)
  • 1 tablespoon of oyster sauce
  • 1 – 2 tablespoons of sriracha  (rooster sauce!)
  • 1 tablespoon of cooking oil (I use grapesee oil)
  • green onions for garnish

*I usually just buy shabu shabu meat which you can find in asian grocery stores
**I love mentaiko udon but I’ve never been able to find it in stores so I just go to T&T Supermarket and buy fish roe from the sushi aisle.

Directions:

  1. Boil a pot of water and cook the udon according to the package instructions.
  2. Heat up oil in a wok or a pan that is at least 1.5 inches deep.
  3. When the oil is hot, add in the beef, mirin, and half the soy saute until cooked through. Remove the beef from the pan into a separate bowl to avoid over cooking.
  4. Add mushrooms and kimchi into the pan and saute until almost softened (around 3-4 minutes).
  5. Add in 1 pat of butter (half a table spoon) and the rest of the seasoning (soy sauce, oyster sauce, sriracha) and the fish roe. Saute and mix well.
  6.  Add the udon into the pan and mix well into the sauce. Taste to see if there is enough sauce (add more soy, sriracha, or oyster sauce).
  7. Once you are happy with the way the noodles taste, add in the last pat of butter and the beef and stir through.
  8. Plate and garnish with green onions and serve!

As always, I hope you enjoyed the recipe! Happy cooking! -J

2 thoughts on “Kimchi beef yakiudon

Leave a Reply

