Whole wheat pizza

Hi everybody!

Hope you all had a wonderful, relaxing holidays with your family! Today was my unwind day, ie: do absolutely nothing but eat, nap, oh and make pizza! I’m sure a lot of you have this problem, the days right after the holidays, your fridge is just full of bits and pieces of leftover ingredients from your holiday meal and you think to yourself, what the heck am I going to do with all this stuff?!?!

This year for the holidays, instead of making a Christmas dinner, I hosted Christmas brunch instead. As a result, I have leftover quiche mixture (re-purposed into scrambled eggs for breakfast), grated cheese for the quiche, mushrooms for the quiche, basil for garnishing…. you get the idea. I have a lot of opened packages in my fridge. What better way to use up all these items than to throw it onto a pizza and call it a day.

But first, I needed to make a pizza crust to house all my leftover bits and pieces. I started browsing the internet to find a recipe for a simple whole wheat pizza dough recipe and found just the thing on Two Peas and a Pod’s website. This recipe was exactly what I was looking for, simple, few ingredients and relatively quick! So off I went!

Whole Wheat Pizza/Dough (see original recipe here*)

Home made pizza
Home made pizza

Ingredients:

Ingredients for the pizza dough
Ingredients for the pizza dough
  • 1/2 cup warm water (110’F – I used a thermometer to get there but if you don’t have one, 1 part hot water, 1 part cold water will get you close to 110’F)
  • 1 1/8 teaspoon of dry active yeast
  • 1/2 teaspoon of sugar
  • 1 1/4 cup of whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 tablespoon of olive oil
  • 1/2 tablespoon of honey
  • 3/4 teaspoons of salt
  • Pizza toppings – tomato sauce, cheese, meat, veggies, whatever you please!

*This recipe only makes one pizza crust. I halved the original recipe which I believe will make two pizzas.

Directions:

  1. Preheat over to 450 degrees F.
  2. In the bowl of the stand mixer or food processor using the dough hook (whichever you are using to make the dough), combine the warm water, yeast, and sugar. Stir just enough to combine the ingredients and let the yeast sit for 5-10 minutes until it foams and bubbles.

    Step 1
    Step 2
  3. Add in half the flour, olive oil, honey, and salt into the yeast mixture and set the mixer on low until a dough forms. Once the dough starts to forms add in remaining flour. Once the dough forms, change the setting to medium and mix until all the ingredients fulling incorporate. It took me about 2 minutes to get there.

    Step 2
    Step 3
  4. Once the dough is ready, lightly flour a clean surface and knead the dough several times to create a ball.

    Step 3
    Step 4
  5. Place the dough ball into a lightly greased bowl and cover with a warm towel. Let the dough rest and rise for 30 minutes.
    Step 4
    Step 5

    Step 5
    Step 5
  6. When the dough is ready, roll out into a 14 inch circle and place on a cookie sheet or pizza stone if you have one. (I sprinkled some oatmeal on my pan to prevent sticking and it seemed to have worked!)

    Step 6
    Step 6
  7. Spread on tomato sauce and fold over the edges to prevent the sauce and toppings from leaking when baking. I had leftover pasta sauce, so I that as my base.

    Step 7
    Step 7
  8. Top pizza with cheese and toppings. For this pizza, I used gouda, salami, mushrooms, and basil!

    Step 8
    Step 8
  9. Bake for 20 minutes or until the crust is nice and golden brown.
  10. Remove pizza from the oven and let it rest for 5 minutes.

    Step 10
    Step 10
  11. Slice and serve!

I hope you enjoyed this recipe! Happy cooking! – J

Leave a Reply

