Root vegetable chips + spicy carrot dip

Hi everyone,

Recently I was contacted by Gastropost via Instagram to participate in weekly food missions! Each week, there is a different food mission to accomplish and this week, also my first week, the mission was to create something with winter vegetables including carrots, beets and squash! To be completely honest, I was at a complete lost as to what to do short of making a carrot ginger soup or sticking all the vegetables into the pressure cooker with the lamb shanks I had planned on making but I wanted to do something to really show cased just the vegetables.

At the grocery store, I picked up a variety of colourful root vegetables. To be honest, I never fully noticed the different varietal of vegetables that are available during the winter often opting to pick up the usual broccoli, mushrooms, kale, green beans etc. I was floored by the bright hues and different shapes of the veggies and picked up a bunch to experiment with!

Assorted vegetables!
My veggie loot!

As I was leaving the store, I was humming and ahhing over what to make; thinking about maybe a carrot ginger soup when it hit me (I don’t know why it took so long) that carrot and spice go really well together, why don’t I make a spicy carrot dip with Greek yogurt and some root veggie chips?!

Armed with my trusty mandolin and array of veggies, I set up the arm bulking task of shaving the veggies (purple yams, lotus roots, and golden beets). I don’t know what I’m doing wrong, but I wasn’t able to get perfect rounds of veggie slices. The lotus root turned out okay but the yams and golden beets chips turn out more like semi circles…which was I guess a blessing in disguise as it made the cooking process easier.

Golden beet
Golden beet
Lotus root
Lotus root
Purple yams
Purple yams

I’m happy to say that all my mandolin-ing paid off and the pictures of my veggies (first picture) and of the finish product were featured on Gastropost, my first online feature! *clap, clap, clap!

Root Vegetable Chips!
Root Vegetable Chips!

These chips and the dip were really simple to make! They are a yummy and healthier alternative to regular potato chips for you couch potatoes out there!

Root vegetable chips

Ingredients:

  • Your choice of root vegetables/vegetables (lotus root, yams, beets, parsnips, etc.) – yams are the easiest to use because they are high in starch and have a lower water content.
  • 2 – 3 tablespoons of oil

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees F.
  2. Peel the vegetables.
  3. Thinly slice vegetables or mandolin the vegetables.
  4. On a prepared pan (cookie sheet lined with parchment paper), lightly brush oil all over parchment paper.
  5. Place sliced vegetables onto the prepared baking sheet.
  6. Bake for 10 minutes. Remove tray from the oven. Flip the chips and continuing baking for 3 – 4 minutes as required. You may find that for some of the chips depending of the size, 10 minutes will be sufficient. Only re-bake the chips that require more time.

Spicy Carrot Dip

Ingredients:

  • 2 – 3 medium sized carrots
  • 1/4 cup Greek yogurt
  • 1 tablespoon cumin
  • 1/2 jalapeño
  • salt to taste
  • olive oil to thin out consistency as needed

Directions:

  1. Steam carrots until soft. Cool before combining with Greek yogurt.
  2. Combine all the steamed carrots and the rest of the ingredients in the food processor until carrots have been puréed and ingredients combined.
  3. Taste to determine if additional seasoning’s (salt/cumin) are required.

The carrot dip was by far my favourite of this. The sweetness of the carrots really came through and paired really well with the cumin. I would make this dip again to serve with meats like lamb or eat it with bread as a snack!

Hope you enjoyed this recipe! Happy baking – J

One thought on “Root vegetable chips + spicy carrot dip

Leave a Reply

