Lavender lemon bars

Hi everyone,

Busy season is right around the corner and things at work are picking up. I’m finding it harder to make time to blog especially during the weekdays. I am still cooking away but more for nourishment (ie: feed my tummy) rather than for fun. On the weekends, I am still aiming to create one pretty/elaborative/photograph’s well dish so I can at least post one yummy item a week and maybe one of my quick meals on the go!

Lemon Bars
Lavender Lemon Bars

Today I decided to make lavender lemon bars. The lavender part because I wanted to spice or sweeten? them up from the normal lemon bars. I’m normally not a big fan of lavender in my food preferring it in my lotions and body washes but decided to put some lavender in to change up the otherwise classic recipe. Throughout the process, I kept thinking the lavender scent was extremely overpowering and was regretting my decision to blend the lavender into the sugar. The taste was surprisingly delicate, giving off a light floral flavour. If I wasn’t looking for it or know that lavender was in the bars, I may not have guessed the lavender was in the bars. So I will call this experiment a success! 

Lavender lemon bars

I adapted this recipe from the Dirty Apron cookbook*.

Ingredients required.
Ingredients required (salt not pictured).

Shortbread base

  • 1 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1/2 granulated sugar
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 2 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Lemon filling

  • 7 eggs
  • 2 cups granulated sugar**
  • 2 tablespoon lemon zest
  • 1 cup lemon juice
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1.5 tablespoons of dried lavender bulbs***
  • powder sugar to garnish

*I halved the original recipe in half. The recipe is for a 9′ by 13 ‘ pan. Makes about 24 bars.
**I reduced the sugar content by 1/2 cup.
***I added lavender to this recipe.

Directions:

  1. Preheat over to 325’F. Line a 9′ by 13′ pan with parchment paper. Spray the parchment paper with a non-stick cooking spray.
  2. Make the lavender sugar. In the food processor, blend the lavender bulbs and all the sugar (sugar for the shortbread and the lemon filling) until the lavender bulbs have been crushed.

    Lavender sugar
    Lavender sugar
  3. In a stand mixer with the paddle attachment, cream butter and lavender sugar together until well combined.
  4. Add in vanilla extract and mix until combined.
  5. Add in flour and salt and mix until combined.
  6. Press mixture onto the prepared pan. Your dough may be a bit loose at this point. Take the time to press the dough evenly throughout the pan.

    Step
    Step 6 – Press dough onto the pan
  7. Bake the crust until the dough is set and lightly golden brown about 20 to 30 minutes depending on your oven.
  8. Lemon filling – combine all the ingredients for the lemon filling together and whisk until well combined.

    Lemon filling mixture
    Lemon filling mixture
  9. Pour the lemon filling onto the hot shortbread base.
  10. Bake for 20 to 30 minutes until the filling has set. The filling is set when it jiggles like jelly.
    Lemon bars out of the oven
    Lemon bars out of the oven

    Lemons b
    Lemons bars cooling
  11. Let the lemon bars cool before cutting.

    Profile view of lemon bars
    Profile view of lemon bars
  12. Garnish lemon bars with powdered sugar.

    Lavender lemon bars
    Lavender lemon bars
  13. Dig in!

I hope you all enjoyed this recipe! Happy baking! – J

3 thoughts on “Lavender lemon bars

Leave a Reply

