Marutama Ra-men

Hi everyone,

Typical to Vancouver weather, this past Saturday was dark and rainy. I had plans to meet up with Michelle downtown for a brunch and catch up. Initially we had planned to go to either Twisted Fork or Cafe Medina but with the downpour of rain, standing in line outside was not an option. Due to the dreariness of the weather, we decide to hit up one of the many ramen shops in Vancouver.

We ended up visiting Marutama! I have been eager to try Marutama’s signature chicken broth since they opened up shop back in 2013. From what I have gathered, Marutama is the only ramen shop that offers a pure chicken broth. Most of other ramen shops serve up pork bone based soup or a mix between pork and chicken. I was both excited and hesistant Marutama’s chicken broth wondering if it could hold its own against the traditional pork based ramen soup that Vancouver has gotten to know and love.

Tamago Ra-men
Tamago Ra-men

I am happy to report, the chicken broth ramen was delicious! It had all the qualities of a good soup that I was looking for – full of depth and had a silky, creamy consistency that is a result of many hours of boiling chicken bones and chicken feet.

Soft-boiled tamago
Soft-boiled tamago

The highlight of this bowl of noodles was the soft boiled egg it came with. Marutama has their egg cooking skills down to a science. Look at the consistency of that yolk – firm enough that it held it’s shape and didn’t leak into the broth but still creamy and melt in your mouth.

Last thoughts: Overall, I felt that Marutama put out a very competitive bowl of ramen. The handmade noodles were toothsome. If I had to critique, I would prefer thicker noodles like the ones they make at Taishoken but I would happily eat this bowl of ramen over and over again without complaints. This bowl of ramen did not satisfy my ramen cravings, instead it made me want more ramen. So much so, I went to visit Taishoken the next day. And as I sit here typing up this review, I am wishing that Marutama was still open so I can get my hands on another bowl of chicken ramen as my after dessert dessert.

Marutama Ra-men on Urbanspoon

3 thoughts on “Marutama Ra-men

  1. Hi ,

    Your first post just appeared on Urbanspoon! Check it out:
    https://www.urbanspoon.com/r/14/1725546/restaurant/Robson-Street-West-End/Marutama-Ra-men-Vancouver

    I encourage you to claim your blog, which allows you to add a picture and change some settings. The blog photo shows up next to your posts wherever they appear on Urbanspoon. Here’s how to claim:

    – Make sure you’re logged into Urbanspoon

    – Go to your blog page on our site: https://www.urbanspoon.com/blogger-reviews/14/14293/Vancouver/theundomesticatedkitchen.html

    – Click “Claim your blog” in the left sidebar

    After you submit it, we may contact you to verify your claim. Check your spam email folder if your claim hasn’t gone through in a day or two. You’ll also find some interesting badges and widgets on your Urbanspoon blog page – look in the right sidebar.

    If you have any questions, please contact me via email.

    Thanks,
    Greg

    greg@urbanspoon.com

    Like

  2. Thanks! I just approved your blog claim. Now your Urbanspoon profile picture is displayed on your blog page. You can upload a blog-specific photo if you prefer, and can change a few other blog settings there. Also, if you vote for a restaurant that you’ve reviewed on your blog, we now show your vote next to your post everywhere on our site.

    https://www.urbanspoon.com/blogger-reviews/14/14293/Vancouver/theundomesticatedkitchen.html

    Best,
    Greg

    greg@urbanspoon.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

