New Years ramble

So it’s been almost 10 months more or less since I’ve last blogged, I am actually too ashamed to even check the exact date of my last blog so I can’t be certain how long it’s been. I’m not even entirely sure what the reason of my stopping was – laziness? motivation? I certainly gave myself enough excuses to not do it – I’m trying to find a new job, I’m too tired (but never too tired to watch endless hours of tv), the lighting in my kitchen is too dark to take pictures, I’m in too much of a rush to take pictures of my cooking process!!!….I’ll do it tomorrow. Basically every excuse one can think of and it boils down to laziness and procrastination, guess I haven’t progressed much five and a half years post graduation…

Funnily enough, starting a food blog was one of my 2015 New Years resolutions and I feel I kicked it off with a bang. I tried very hard to be creative and entertaining but soon that became like a chore to me and I was always trying to keep up. No I didn’t stop eating and cooking throughout this time, trust me, my jelly belly can attest to that. I somehow faltered at the thought/expectation that I had or was expected to write something significant, like a fancy meal or dish. So this self imposed expectation led to procrastination which led to the silence of the blog.

Alright, enough reminiscing and rehashing and reflecting, it is now 2016. What are my blog goals this year without scaring myself away?

  1. I want to just write, my thoughts and opinions and quirks. So to whoever will be reading this, this will become a personal journal of sorts, you’ll just have to read it, TOO BAD.
  2. There are no recipes too easy or small for this blog. If I like it, it’s going in (this will be my own personal reference recipe blog as well).
  3. Cookbooks – I am super guilty of this. I get drawn in by the allure of hard covered, pictured filled books on food. I buy a lot of them. If I go to a restaurant and the chef has a book, I will likely go home with it and place if on my bookshelf. That’s it. It sits there and sometimes I flip through to peer at the pretty pictures and make myself hungry. This year is the year to use them. Not going to go crazy here, but let’s start with a hopefully achievable goal of making a recipe from a cookbook AND blogging about it once every two months.
  4. And four…I think that is all for now. I am tired and therefore it is bedtime. I will ramble on in a future blog that will hopefully feature some food as well.

Night all!

 

Leave a Reply

